Purpose: As part of the UNH Library’s commitment to student success, social responsibility and community engagement, space is provided in Dimond Library for campus organizations to place a collection box to gather items donated to causes that benefit our community.
How to Apply: Please complete the application on the library's Exhibits & Event Spaces page. Applicants will be contacted within three business days.
Parameters: Please submit your request as soon as you are aware of the need, preferably at least a week in advance. Since space is limited, only one collection box will be placed at a time. Requests are reviewed/approved in the order they are received, and each placement is only for the requested time. Any collection box left without prior approval will be removed.
Location/Schedule: You can place your collection box in the main lobby of Dimond Library across from the Information Desk on the main level (Level Three) for up to four weeks (shorter times are fine too). If the need is recurring, please apply for each desired collection period.
Maintenance: When placing the collection box, please create a sign (8 ½ by 11) that clearly indicates:
You should check donations at least once a week to make sure the box is not overfull and remove the collection box by the end date noted on the application. Collections not retrieved by the agreed upon end date will be donated or discarded within three business days of end date on the application.
The UNH Library is not liable for loss, damage, or theft of the contents of the collection box. The Library's Facilities Program Lead is responsible for monitoring and updating this policy as needed. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Updated by T. Lauder 7/24
Reviewed by UNH Library Faculty: 8/24
Approved by the Dean of the UNH Library: 12/24
