Special Collections Collection Development Policy
Milne Special Collections and Archives
UNH Library, University of New Hampshire
Introduction:
Special Collections is a collection portfolio that constitutes one half of Milne Special Collections and Archives and focusses on manuscript and rare book collections. This document functions as a set of rules that provides collection development guidance for its acquisitions.
History of Special Collections:
The UNH Library collected unique and rare materials from the time it was housed in the Hamilton-Smith Library. The Library established a Special Collections Department in the 1970s and expanded the department during the 1980s and 1990s through donor gifts and targeted collecting. Milne Special Collections and Archives moved to its current space during the Dimond Library renovation in the mid-1990s. Special Collections works collaboratively with University Archives to collect, preserve and provide access to rare and unique historical materials.
Purpose:
Special Collections supports the University of New Hampshire’s teaching and research mission by collecting, preserving and making accessible rare, unique and specialized materials relating to New Hampshire history and culture, with an emphasis on the Seacoast region of New Hampshire (including the Kittery and Eliot areas of southern Maine). Special Collections contributes to the preservation of New Hampshire history as part of the greater archival and library community in the state.
Special Collections serves members of the public, scholarly researchers from other institutions, and the university community.
Acquisitions:
Special Collections acquires materials through donations, purchases, internal transfer of library materials, and exchange with other repositories or collectors. Acquisitions are made in all formats, including analog, digital, and born-digital materials.
Special Collections will not accept materials without legal transfer of title through a deed of gift or official written acknowledgement of giving/receiving the gift.
Special Collections cannot accept gifts that pose major preservation hazards (such as mold, pests, water or fire damage, or other extraordinary issues), that come with special conditions and constraints that Special Collections cannot honor; or that require extensive processing or treatment.
Special Collections does not collect fine art unless it is deemed directly related to a larger collection; artwork and memorabilia that is related to a collection may be selectively accepted for display in administrative and public areas.
Special Collections gives weight in acquisition decisions about the best placement of materials. Donors will be directed to appropriate repositories if their material does not fit within our policy. We avoid accepting materials that are known to be primarily collected by other institutions or are part of collections located in other institutions, unless there is a compelling reason to accept the material, such as a connection to existing Special Collection or University Archives collections.
Material accepted into the collection should supplement existing collecting areas or strengthen weak areas that have been identified as areas of interest by this policy. Special Collections does not collect individual items unless deemed appropriate (such as having important connections to existing collections) by the Special Collections Librarian.
Special Collections will not accept materials that are closed to the public in perpetuity. All restricted material will be designated with an opening date prior to the donation/transfer acceptance.
Present Identified Strengths:
Ranked descriptions of Special Collections collecting levels are as follows:
Collecting Areas:
Seacoast region of New Hampshire history and culture
Special Collections collects materials related to the Seacoast region of New Hampshire (with a focus on Durham, Dover and Newmarket and including areas of Southern Maine (Kittery and Eliot) and areas as far north as Rochester and as west as Epping), with a specific interest in New Hampshire organizations, tourism, businesses, and associations. Special Collections maintains comprehensive holdings of print and manuscript materials in this area and aims to collect comprehensively where possible through the addition of donated and purchased materials.
Subcollections/specialized collections:
NHamp Collection
The NHamp (short for New Hampshire) Collection consists of printed materials relating to New Hampshire history and culture and to Special Collections holdings. It supplements rare books and manuscripts collections and includes both primary and secondary source materials. The collection includes selected state government documents, including print town and city reports. Special Collections avoids duplication of holdings in the library’s circulating collections and specialized collections in other UNH libraries.
Shakers
Special Collections maintains a selective level of collecting for Shaker related materials, with a specific focus on materials relating to the Shaker communities in New Hampshire and on materials relating to Shaker music.
Genealogy
Special Collections maintains an active level of collecting of published and unpublished genealogy materials, including town histories. The institution collects these materials if they match one or more of the broad collecting areas.
Traditional song and dance/Anglo-American Dance materials and related organizations
New Hampshire Library of Traditional Music and Dance represents the institution’s substantial collections of personal papers and organizational archives related to New England and Anglo-American contra and square dance traditions and related traditions such as Royal Scottish dance and morris dance. Special Collections aims to increase to a comprehensive collecting level of materials that document New England contra and square dance traditions.
Special Collections continues to collect materials from other parts of the United States and abroad at an active level for materials from the United States and at a minimal level for international materials and will be collected on a case-by-case basis.
The institution’s collection of books and periodicals related to traditional music and dance is currently at the comprehensive level with thorough coverage of most aspects of the subject. Special collections aims to maintain the collection at the comprehensive level by adding newly published materials and through the selective acceptance of gifts to fill any gaps in the collections. Special Collections no longer accept entire collections of dance-related books and periodicals in order to avoid extensive duplication.
Special Collections’ collection of commercially produced sound and video recordings is at a substantial level. The institution currently selectively collects in this area, focusing on rare, unique and small recording studio recordings as well as New England-produced recordings. Collections will be considered on a case-by-case basis.
Angling
Special Collections collects at a comprehensive level for the Milne Angling collection. The institution emphasizes collecting rare books through adding newly published materials and through the selective acceptance of gifts; the collection is currently at a comprehensive level. Special Collections collect manuscript materials at an active level and aims to collect at a selective level.
Special Collections will consider donations of angling book collections with the aim of filling in gaps of the collection and upgrading the current holdings.
New Hampshire environmental activism, movements, and research
Special Collections has substantial collections related to New Hampshire environmental activism, movements and research. The institution aims to keep collecting at a near-comprehensive level through donations and purchases.
New Hampshire authors and poets
Special Collections has currently a selective collection of New Hampshire authors, with a specific strength in New Hampshire poets and poetry. New Hampshire authors and poets are defined as creators who lived and worked in the state. The institution aims to collect at a representative level through donations and purchases.
New Hampshire political papers
Special Collections has currently a representative level collection of New Hampshire politicians’ papers. The institution aims to collect at a comprehensive level through donations.
Botanical and natural history materials/History of Science materials
Special Collections collects at a selective level materials relating to botanical and natural history that complement and add to our current holdings. The institution seeks materials that support university curriculum needs and areas of excellence, as well as materials which match one or more of the broad collecting areas.
Special Collections does minimal collecting of history of science materials and will consider first-edition significant science milestone publications for the collection. The current collection includes early publications in geology and paleontology. The collection is maintained at a minimal collecting level, with consideration of gifts or transfer on a case-by-case basis.
Book Arts
Special Collections collects representative examples of book arts that reflect the history of printing and book technology and that support university curricular needs. The institutions does not collect fine press books unless they match one or more of the collecting areas in traditional dance and music, angling or New Hampshire history. Special Collections considers New Hampshire press archives and collections on a case-by-case basis with consideration of filling gaps in our collection.
National Archives of Composition and Rhetoric (NACR)
The National Archives of Composition and Rhetoric (NACR) is a collection of rare books and manuscript materials documenting composition/ writing studies and materials used to teach composition in the United States. Special Collections maintains a substantive level collection of rare books and manuscript materials through donations. The institution considers on a case-by-case basis the addition of collections based on the importance of the collection content and documentation of the field.
Weak/Developing Areas
Special Collections has identified specific collecting areas that are developing or weaker and would welcome donations of materials that support the future development of these identified areas.
Deaccessioning:
Materials that do not reflect the Special Collections scope of collecting or do not contain sufficient archival value may be deaccessioned, subject to the review of the terms of acquisition and library leadership.
We will consider the following criteria when considering materials for deaccessioning:
Materials considered for deaccession are carefully reviewed and, as appropriate, deaccessioned in compliance with any donor agreements or legal restrictions, professional best practices, and professional standards. Deaccessioned materials may be transferred to another repository; returned to the donor if applicable; sold, disposed of, donated or transferred in accordance with state and university surplus property policies. We do not monetize our collections by deaccessioning materials in order to raise funds.
Removal of materials will follow the process outlined in the Milne Special Collections and Archives Deaccession Policy.
Policy Review:
This policy will be reviewed, evaluated, and changed as necessary to meet the goals of the UNH Library, and as complementary policies and procedures are developed in conjunction with this document. Any changes made will be done with input from surveys, reports, appropriate staff and faculty and staff feedback, library meetings, and/or other data deemed appropriate by the Special Collections Librarian. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com.
Written by: E. Slomba: 6/25
Reviewed by Faculty: 6/25
Approved by Dean of the UNH Library: 6/25
