UNH Library Policies

Special Collections and University Archives Deaccession Policy

Milne Special Collections and Archives

UNH Library, University of New Hampshire

Introduction

Milne Special Collections and Archives provides long term stewardship and access to unique collections at the University of New Hampshire (UNH). Deaccessioning of archival collections material occurs when needed and in accordance with Milne Special Collections and Archives collection policies, with the intent to strengthen both collection portfolios.

Scope

This policy applies to the collection portfolios residing within Special Collections and University Archives in the UNH Library, and includes all processed and unprocessed collections. The policy is applied after the Special Collections Librarian and/or the University Archivist have determined that a specific set of material is to be deaccessioned.

The stakeholders involved in the development, review and observance of this policy are the Special Collections Librarian, University Archivist, Collection Strategy Librarian, and members of the Archival Processing and Access, Acquisition Access Description, Materials Management, Facilities and Finance programs.

This policy is maintained by the Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist.

Policy Statement

Deaccessioning

Deaccessioning refers to the process of removing an item permanently from our collections (cf. Society of American Archivist’s Dictionary of Archives Terminology, https://dictionary.archivists.org/entry/deaccession.html, accessed 6/09/2025). The items may be rehomed at a different institution, returned to donors, or sold. Deaccessioning of Special Collections and University Archives materials may occur when the item or collection does not fit within the scope of Milne Special Collections and University Archives collection policies.

Responsibility for deaccessioning activities and decisions rests with the Special Collections Librarian and the University Archivist as applicable. Consultation with other faculty and staff will be conducted when necessary. All deaccessioning will be accomplished according to the guidelines listed below.

Guidelines according to legal status of collections

A significant factor in how items are deaccessioned is how the library acquired the item. Archival collections may have been:

1) Donated through a gift agreement;

2) Purchased;

3) Transferred from an internal collection;

4) Acquired without gift agreements.

Gift Agreements

A gift agreement or “deed of gift” is a legal instrument. Per the Society of American Archivist’s Dictionary of Archives Terminology, “Deeds of gift take the form of a contract establishing conditions governing the transfer of title to archival resources and specifying any restrictions on access and use.” (https://dictionary.archivists.org/entry/deed-of-gift.html, accessed 6/09/2025).

Gift agreements may include provisions for disposal of items during accessioning and processing. These provisions are discussed during the gift process and are agreed on by the library representative and the donor.

In the absence of directives that provide the means for disposition, the Special Collections Librarian or University Archivist will follow a procedure of due diligence which will include (when applicable):

1. A comprehensive review of the deed of gift and all associated documentation related to the initial acquisition;
2. Identifying and reaching out to the original donor, their estate, or representative notifying them of the intention to deaccession the collection and clearly enumerate the reasons for deaccession;
3. Offer to return the contents of the original gift to the identified party;
4. Provide transparent access to all relevant documentation around the terms of the initial gift to stakeholders;
5. As necessary, consider alternatives to the sale of the item(s) in ways that would benefit the long term preservation and access to the collection, or the sale, transfer, or donation to a reputable 501(c)(3) organization;
6. Documentation of on-site disposal of records, such as confidential materials or out of scope materials;
7. Conduct post-deaccession reviews that refine the procedure for future instances.

Donors, if available, will be consulted when a significant portion or the entirety of a collection is being considered for deaccessioning. The University System of New Hampshire (USNH) Counsel will be consulted and involved in the termination of gift agreements should a collection be identified for deaccessioning.

Collections governed by gift agreements can be rehomed to other institutions, with consultation of donors if the donors are available.

Purchases

Items purchased with library funds or gift funds can be deaccessioned in accordance with the Library’s Collection Maintenance Policy and collection policies.

Internal Collection Transfers

Items transferred from other Library collections can be deaccessioned in accordance with the Library’s Collection Maintenance Policy. The Collections Strategy Librarian will be consulted about the disposition of materials.

Materials without gift agreements

Professional practice indicates that Special Collections and Archives only accepts collections and items with gift agreements or written donor statements. However, due to the age of the library, materials may have come into the collections without gift agreements. This section addresses the disposition of this material.

The Special Collections Librarian or the University Archivist will consult with the USNH legal counsel to establish ownership of these materials. Once ownership is established, then the item can be deaccessioned in accordance with this policy.

Guidelines For What Is Deaccessioned

• Worn or damaged items that do not have unique value and are being replaced by an exact copy;
• Materials out of scope for the current collection as described in a collection policy;
• Duplicate materials in Special Collections and Archives holdings;
• Materials that pose a clear and present danger to other holdings such as mold infestations;
• A better or comparable example is currently part of present collections or is considered for future acquisition;
• Materials that have been identified as fakes and forgeries;
• An item or collection’s preservation needs are beyond the means and resources of the Special Collections and University Archives.

Deaccessioning Procedures

Staff and faculty identify materials for deaccession through regular collection maintenance, reappraisal, archival processing, and cataloging.

The Special Collections Librarian or University Archivist reviews the materials in accordance with the Special Collections and/or University Archives collection development policies and determines whether to retain the material.

• The review includes determination of ownership as outlined above, which governs the disposition of the material;
• The value of the material is determined and documented if possible, using sources such as ABEBooks, rare book vendors, and auction catalogs.

Stakeholders are consulted concerning retention of the material.

• When feasible, the donors and the library gift officer will be consulted before the item is removed from the collection;
• If the material to be deaccessioned is of significant size (such as more than twenty books), the process for consulting faculty will be followed as outlined in the UNH Library Collection Maintenance Policy, specifically the Library Systematic Review Process section.

The Special Collections Librarian or the University Archivist makes the final decision on deaccessioning and communicates the decision to stakeholders.

Material is then removed from the catalog by members of the Acquistion Access Description program or from the archival collection management system by members of the Archival Processing and Access Program.

Special Collections and University Archives will maintain a record of all deaccessioned materials. The repository deaccession records will include relevant information about the method and date of disposition, a photograph of the deaccessioned object(s) when feasible and as needed, and the organization or individual who acquired the item(s).

Disposition of Deaccessioned Materials

The value and legal status of the deaccessioned materials determines the disposition.

The Dean’s Office and/or their designee will be consulted on university procedures for disposition and whether items could be sold through auction. Money received from the sale of materials is used for Special Collections and University Archives maintenance, such as for the purchase of archival supplies, material conservation, and related activities.

If the material is not eligible to be sold through auction, the material will be disposed through the same vendors as used for the Library’s circulating collections or through the University’s surplus process.

Policy Review

This policy will be reviewed annually, evaluated, and changed when necessary to meet the goals of the University Library as complementary policies and procedures are developed in conjunction with this document. Any changes made will be done with input from surveys, reports, appropriate staff and faculty feedback, library meetings, and/or other data deemed appropriate by the Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist. Questions about this policy can be sent to ask@unh.libanswers.com 

Written by: E. Slomba: 6/25

Reviewed by Faculty: 6/25

Approved by Dean of the UNH Library: 6/25